October 19, 2013

  • Two Turtles Found Dead in Oklahoma

    We have already had snow here in central Kansas yesterday. Most is gone now and I hope this isn’t an indication of what we are in for the rest of the year. As many of you know, I am not an enthusiast of winter and what accompanies it.

    I have had no spontaneous urges to pullover and smell the roses this week. I have seen three skunks, two armadillos, one cat and two box turtles on the roadway. Sadly, all in various stages of flatness and truly non-photoworthy. I will skip the details, but I caused none of their demise.  So no pullover tales today.

    Spent another few nights in Stillwater, OK. Most of the fellows I work with were too far from home to justify the plane ticket for the weekend, they had to change motels, not only motels but cities. The OSU homecoming is this weekend and all motel rooms in town were booked in advance for this. So my Canadian friends moved out to Tulsa, hopefully they got rooms there. They asked me what “Homecoming” was. I explained it to the best of my ability and knowledge but one nerd to another, I’m afraid I may have failed miserably. ( How would you explain it? ) They have no such occasions in connection with hockey or Lacrosse  in Alberta or Saskatchewan. Homecoming is definitely an American football tradition.

    I think my Congressman has stopped accepting my E-mails. My name is spam to his congressional mailbox evidently. I am very proud of this. I hope I haven’t been put on a airline watch list but I do see many lost luggage claims in the future. All of my correspondence have been respectful but I may have gone too far in my last letter calling his party affiliation ”your ignorant Tea Party”.

    Such is the life of John

Comments (12)

  • Seeing dead animals on the roadside always makes me sad…I’ve seen skunks, javelinas, dogs, etc. :-(

    Wow on the snow already!!! :-) I hope Winter waits a few weeks before it kicks in to stay!

    Darn Congressman!

    HUGS!!! :-)

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Oopy…the HUGS :-) posted twice! Ha! :-)

  • Tis the season. Drove past a skunk on the way to work today (yes I worked on a Saturday) and for a good 10 minutes the new car smell was abolished by the aroma of skunk. Homecoming – that is a hard one to define.

    • Oh dear, a skunk can ruin it if it gets a square shoot into the vents. But luckily it usually doesn’t. Sounds like you love your Prius as much as my wife loved hers. They are great cars.
      I had to work a few hours today too. No rest for the good hearted it seems. Hope it was a good day for you anyway.

  • Homecoming is just another excuse to party. Did you explain about tail-gating? or how highschool homecomings elect a King and Queen, and there is a dance like a prom? That’s pretty much what I know about it. I didn’t attend the games myself.

    Aw,dead critters. I guess the buzzards and crows shall be happy to have an early Thanksgiving feast.

    Weather has been wonky all over during the past several years. (I saw snow in TX last Christmas while visiting a friend) With tornadoes, floods, and tropical storms, Early snow somewhere doesn’t surprize me too much. I hope it’s not a hard winter for you.

    • Oh yes, Canadians easily understand the tailgating and beer drinking, we Americans can not hold a candle to them when it comes to beer drinking. They were saying that athletics in high school and “university” are not held nearly as highly as they are in the states. Our college sports stadiums are more impressive than their pro sports arenas.

  • Too many dead animals :-( . Hopefully everything will improve and you will have some pull over worthy shots.

    I’m sure you did fine explaining homecoming. I never really thought of it being an American invention. It seems there might be something similar associated with a sport they might be familiar with…. no?

    I appreciate the different seasons – to an extent. I think summer heat is my least favorite. I like to have one good snow a year but not much more than that because I don’t like driving in winter weather. I haven’t checked with the Farmer’s Almanac but I’m expecting a bad winter – mostly because my new job is a further drive. peace always

    • I’m sure it will improve, I will keep looking. My favorite season is spring. Winter I like for the first 15 minutes of the first snow. That’s all. No, they say they have nothing like it in high school or university. I will dig deeper this week, surely they have some kind of celebrations or mixers.

  • I love fall honestly. Spring is my second choice…. Wow – us crazy Americans inventing homecoming. But really it’s just a big game celebration because the team has played away games and now they are coming home to play. I’m not sure why we decided to throw in electing/ choosing royalty and a having a dance for high school homecoming but it’s good to have big celebrations sometimes.

  • Hey, I am still trying to learn my way around 2.0. Interesting about homecoming. I attended a school in South Dakota that had a Hobo Day as homecoming. I am sure that would discombobulate the friends from Canada.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.