September 19, 2013

  • Hotel Nights

         As I lie here, uncomfortably reclined and propped up by four entirely too firm half sized pillows, I check the time and see that I am wide awake an hour and a half before my alarm. I count the hours that I have been lying here. Let's see, I finished my carryout KFC (original recipe, of course) while watching Chris Mathews, retreated to stretch out on the bed during his closing commentary close to 7 pm. It was about 2 am when I awoke from my dreamless sleep. Let's see, 7 from 12 equals 5 hours, plus 2 equals 7, that's 7 hours sleep, plenty enough for a man my age. Spent the last  2 hours reading the news, watching YouTube and organizing my suitcase. I have watched a time lapsed video of the arched bridge being built downstream from the Hoover Dam, a girl's twerking fail that set her yoga pants on fire (Jimmy Kimmel hoax), the National Weather Service radar for every city I have ever lived in and in the darkness, after turning off the tv and the bed stand lamp, mentally recalled every name of every teacher I had in elementary school. Can I really say that I have had a sleepless night after having a full 7 hours sleep? If I now spend a few minutes writing a short post about this, it will be about time to get up and take a shower. Welcome to Hotel nights. 

    This week I am staying just a few blocks from the OSU campus in Stillwater, OK. A lovely town really. I will probably have a few more weeks here, off and on, between now and the end of the year. I am running out of places to eat. I'm involved in a project that has been going on for the last few months. Where to eat is always the big question of the day no matter how interesting a city is that I am staying. I have a little more time now, a few pull-overs and picture taking  may be in store for the future.

    Such is the life of John.

     

Comments (17)

  • I've never been to Stillwater, but in my imagination it's a lovely place...and if it's not cloudy a great place to watch the moon rise and set...it's the harvest moon you know.

    http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurants-g51667-Stillwater_Oklahoma.html

    In honor of the moon may I suggest the Happy Moon Asian Grill ;)

  • Sleeping anywhere away from my own bed is a sleepless night, but at those times I try to change my perspective about how much sleep one truly needs.Ha ha cough cough. I meditate more and that's a +4 for sleep. Enjoy the pullovers! http://jaynebug.xanga.com

    • I tell myself "just as long as I'm resting, that's all that counts." (cough cough). I really hope I get the pull overs too.

  • Ha! that twerkin' fail vid is HIlarious! :-D
    My first night in a motel is always a sleepless one...after that I settle in and do fine.
    I've never been to Stillwater, but it sounds lovely!
    I like the "teacher game"...if I can't sleep I play games like that in my head!
    HUGS and hope you enjoy your stay and the food at the HMAG!!! :-)

    • Yes, that was a great video, it got millions of views. The girl is a professional stunt womam. I play the teacher game, the state capital game, people's names that I know in aphabetical order, people that have died that are younger than me. A fun one is trying to recall what you had to eat at every meal during the previous week. lol :)

  • May I suggest visiting a grocery and purchasing some Indian microwave ready meals? The Taste of India and Tasty Bites brands as well as Swad are delicious! (and less calories and better for you than KFC!) Hope you can survive the hotels and fast food traps!

    • That sounds good! I have a freezer full of Lean Cuisines at home, I may bring a few next week. But I have to have my KFC at least once ever couple weeks or so.I've been eating some very good salads this week. Most diners are offering good ones this time of year. Even a couple fast food places ( WENDY'S and MC's)offer good salads but make sure you get dressing on the side if any at all.

  • I like your night games. Honestly I don't think I can remember all my elementary teachers though. I usually play a game of spider solitaire or 2 when I can't sleep. It utilizes my brain, but isn't so long or engaging like a new book or dvd which would make me want to stay up until the end hours later.

  • I do hope you had Hideaway pizza. It's a must. If I would have known I could have consulted my son for other suggestions. Of course Eskimo Joes but other than that I have no idea. It's not good when you just can't sleep. I hope you got some rest eventually. peace always

    • Yes I've been to I think all of the "Joes" but no I haven't been to Hideaway Pizza. It's up for Thursday night, thanks! I thought perhaps you would be familiar with this area.

  • I appreciate you for sharing this article, I am a big fan of this site would
    like to be kept up to date.

  • I had been honored to receive a call from a friend as he discovered the important guidelines shared
    on the website. Browsing your blog post is a real wonderful experience.
    Many thanks for considering readers like
    me, and I wish you the very best.

  • I ran across your site a week ago as well as started to follow your site content consistently.
    I haven’t left a comment on any sort of blog site at this
    time but I was considering to start soon. It’s definitely exciting to really contribute to an article even when it’s only a blog.
    I really liked going through a couple of your articles.
    Great articles for sure. I'll keep visiting your blog frequently.

    I learned a lot from you. Thank you!

  • Peculiar article, totally what I wanted to find.

  • It's going to be finish of mine day, except before end I
    am reading this great post to increase my experience.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.